SlugFest Games
Facebook Twitter RSS
magnify

RulesFest: Stop Playing With the Drinks!

Published on September 5, 2012 by in RulesFest

Welcome to another installment of RulesFest!  Here’s a fairly common interaction:

Experienced RDI Player: I drink… (flips over a card)… Wine.
New Player: I spike it with firewater!
Experienced Player: The Wench thinks you should stop playing with the drinks.
New Player: The Wench thinks YOU should stop playing with the drinks!
Experienced Player: Um…no…

Unfortunately, the funny nature of “Wench thinks…” sometimes leads players to believe that it can negate any card that has anything to do with drinks.  That’s not the case, for two reasons.  Let’s look at the card!

The first reason it doesn’t work (and the reason we use when explaining this interaction to new players) is because of the text at the bottom of the card: “This card can only be affected by I don’t think so!

But here’s the dirty little secret of this card.  That line about “I don’t think so! is almost entirely redundant anyway!  In fact, the only other card that could potentially affect “The Wench thinks you should stop playing with the drinks.” is Wizgille’s “I didn’t activate my temporal dilation field. It’s just deja vu.

An important general RDI rule to remember is that a card only affects (or changes the effects) of another card if it directly impacts that card when it resolves.  So, let’s look at the hypothetical interaction where “Wench thinks…” is played on another “Wench thinks…“.

“Negate a Sometimes Card…”

So far, so good.  “Wench thinks…” is, in fact, a Sometimes Card.

“…that changes the effects of a Drink Card”

Here’s where things get tripped up.  “Wench thinks…” is not changing the effects of a Drink Card.  It’s negating a Sometimes Card.  So, in the example above, Experienced Player’s “Wench thinks” is not affecting the Wine at all.  It is simply negating “Spike it with firewater.”  Because of this, “Wench thinks…” can never be a legitimate target for “Wench thinks…

In general, when determining whether a card affects something, ignore any ways in which that card might affect things indirectly.  This means, for example, that spiking a drink does not count as “affecting your alcohol content” and that losing a round of gambling does not count as “affecting your gold”.  And it also means that “Wench thinks…” can’t be affected by another “Wench thinks…

Hopefully that clears up this common misconception.  Until next time, SlugFest Rules!

-Jeff

 

2 Responses

  1. The Borgified Corpse

    I’ve got a few rules questions about the new Allies characters.

    Is “It’s not wise to upset a druid” a cheating card? The wording on it is pretty much identical to a cheating card but the top says “Gambling” instead of “Cheating.” (BTW, nice “Star Wars” reference there! 😉 )

    When Pooky plays his cheating card that either forces someone out of the round or they take 2 fortitude damage, does Pooky’s mood get worse either way or does it only get worse if the opposing player chooses the fortitude damage.

    Say Erin is an Elf and she plays that “Druids cannot fight…” card that deals out some fortitude damage and turns her into a bear. The opposing player hits back with something that also causes fortitude damage (like Serena’s “How dare you strike a paladin!”). Erin responds to that with “An eye for an eye” to deal out 2 more points of fortitude damage. My question: when Erin plays that 2nd card, has she already turned into a bear, thus adding 1 more point to the fortitude attack? Or does she not turn into a bear until the entire round of combat resolves (in which case, she would immediately turn into a raven afterwards)?

    • admin

      1. “It’s not wise to upset a druid…” Is NOT a cheating card. The wording is close to identical to “What’s that up your sleeve!” but was left intentionally a gambling card. She isn’t cheating after all, just getting a bit intimidating.

      2. “Pooky won’t give up without a fight.” Only causes Pooky’s mood to get worse if the target chooses to take the 2 Fortitude damage and stay in the round.

      3. All of the Hit Back cards say that they are playable “After” you take fortitude loss, so Erin’s “Druids cannot fight you say?” finishes resolving, and changes her into Bear form before she can be hit back. Since she is already in Bear form when she responds with “An eye for an eye!” she will cause 3 Fortitude loss and then become Raven (unless the card is Negated by “I/We don’t think so!” or “Temporal Dilation” or “Wildshape”).

      I hope that clears everything up!

      TL;DR – 1. Not a cheating card. 2. Pooky’s mood only gets worse if someone takes the damage. 3. Erin is a bear when she hits Serena back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *